Reviews

8.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
7.6
Property location
9.3
Facilities
7.7
Staff
8.6
Value
7.7

Reviews

    Seng Lee Lee
    sg

    Review score

    5.8
    11 June 2018

    Good but...

    Mosquitoes; limited breakfast items
    Central location; big room
    Julia
    us

    Review score

    10
    3 June 2018

    非常有特色的地方,真正的老宅子。 就在王府井大街后,闹中取静。服务,地点

    Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. Location was great. Loved the history and architecture. My three kids, age 7, 12 and 15 thought it was cool to live in the general Tsao's house. (General Tsao's chicken was named after him)
    Ana
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    29 May 2018
    All great
    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards Staff ultra helpful and very attentive to foreigners Great location and very good breakfast
    Ana
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    29 May 2018
    All great
    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards Staff ultra helpful and very attentive to foreigners Great location and very good breakfast
    Mark
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    28 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Hui Mian
    sg

    Review score

    7.5
    23 May 2018
    Not much casual dining options around the area.
    A hotel with great historical value. Central location with great high end shopping malls around. Water heater was down 5 nights out of 6 nights stay. Hotel refunded half of the amount which is a very good initiative.
    Ana
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    8 May 2018

    Brilliant location and wonderful staff

    All great
    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards Staff ultra helpful and very attentive to foreigners Great location and very good breakfast
    Roshni
    lk

    Review score

    7.9
    7 May 2018
    Food.
    Location
    joy
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    5 May 2018
    Location, staff helpfulness and atmosphere
    The hotel was very traditional which we wanted also very central. Everything we needed and staff helpful. Bathroom facilities good and breakfast good. Atmosphere in the garden lovely after a hectic days sightseeing
    Sutteera Tantiwichanant
    th

    Review score

    6.2
    29 April 2018

    LOUD construction noise. Please be aware!

    The major concern with the property was the noise. There is nearby construction occurring on a large building right next to the hotel that begins from midnight until 4am. The rooms facing the construction shouldn't really be rented out at the moment or should be with at least a warning to allow the customer a choice. The noise caused such a problem we didn't sleep the first night and the next morning we had to cancel our further two nights there. The day after the noise we had a day trip planned so we decided to asks staff if when we arrived back in the evening can we cancel the further two nights and move on. At first the girl on reception demanded we check out at 2pm and not evening time otherwise we would need to pay for the room. But after a bit of explaining they relented and allowed us to check out in the evening and have a refund on the two nights of the booking left. We liked the hotel but it was let down by this. We felt it very unfair the hotel tries to lease rooms out with such a large problem. The noise wasn't background noise it was extremely loud drilling and crashing throughout our first night there. I felt sorry for the staff they tried to solve our problem but their owner really needs to question the decision in keeping some of the rooms open for booking while this work continues. It will only lower their review over time which is a shame because its a hotel with real potential and value!
    Location, breakfast
    Stn
    th

    Review score

    7.9
    24 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Antonio
    hk

    Review score

    5.8
    22 April 2018

    Ok for one time. No need a second.

    Shit smell in the evening. Foreign hair in towels. Stone hard bed. A bit noisy rooms.
    Location. Historic building. Fair breakfast. Staff helpful.
    Torsten
    kr

    Review score

    7.5
    20 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Li
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    16 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Naja
    dk

    Review score

    8.8
    10 April 2018
    The whole place is ready for some renovation both inside and outside. The buildings are beautiful so it is a shame to see that they are not maintained. The beds are hard.
    Great location and very helpful staff. Though centrally locates next to Wangfujing street the courtyards and rooms are peaceful. It is possible to make coffee and thee in the room.
    Jarno Peräniitty
    de

    Review score

    10
    8 April 2018
    Beds could be softer. At least for our taste.
    Ladies in reception were fantastic. They helped us a lot with booking tickets, taxis and tours. What ever we asked they did it. Location was amazing also.
    FRANCK LAPORTE
    fr

    Review score

    7.9
    6 April 2018

    Traditional hotel downtown Beijing

    Breakfast could be better.
    Great location in Beijing at walking distance from shopping areas, night market and forbidden city. The staff was friendly extremely helpful and with good advice for recommanding tours and restaurants. The hotel is small and quite in traditional Chinese buildings
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    7 June 2018

    I would be very happy and satisfied apart from meeting that jumbo cockroach.

    The first room assigned to us was very outdated that definitely needed some renovation, had a very disgusting jumbo cockroach, which was more than an inch long, was facing upside down and was struggling on the floor. After we complained, they sprayed insecticide and finally moved us to a more updated room where we peacefully stayed for the rest of our vacation.
    Historical building. Great location. Quiet and comfortable beds. Great breakfast that was made fresh daily by a lady. Has both western and traditional Chinese style foods. Nice staff who are willing to fix the problems.
    Eon
    kr

    Review score

    8.8
    28 May 2018

    Overall, I enjoyed staying here.

    There was a road work near by, all day and all night, and the noise was a little annoying. But, I understand it's not the hotel's responsibility. There's neither English TV channels nor any international channels.
    The location was superb, right next to Wangfuxing. Although the building itself was not well-maintained (it's O.K though), the atmosphere was very traditional and somewhat like a movie-set.
    au

    Review score

    6.7
    26 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews