Reviews

8.2
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
7.6
Property Location
9.3
Facilities
7.7
Staff
8.6
Value
7.7

Reviews

    au

    Review Score

    6.7
    April 26, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    John
    us

    Review Score

    5.4
    April 22, 2018

    aweful

    The room was cold and it took 4 hours to get it warm. The room must have been nice when the hotel first opened but it has not been touched since. Walls had mildew, the furnishing were worn but useable, bathroom was nice. The bed was hard as a rock. The breakfast was marginal. I could have stayed down the street at the Novotel for less but this property sounded like the chance to experience a bit of old China. Our room however was nothing like the pictures on the website. For the price it was extremely disappointing. It is one of the first times in using booking.com that I have been extremely disappointed. I felt that the property was totally misrepresented on your site.
    the room was very quiet and the location was good.
    us

    Review Score

    6.7
    April 3, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mikhail Kuznetsov
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    March 14, 2018

    Perfect hotel in Beijing

    Everything was great
    Historic location close to Forbidden City. Rooms are comfortable and have everything provided. Breakfast is excellent! The staff even bought extra vegetables for us so we could have salad. The hotel was a good value and provided us with everything we needed for our stay.
    us

    Review Score

    6.7
    March 10, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ana
    gb

    Review Score

    9.2
    May 8, 2018

    Brilliant location and wonderful staff

    All great
    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards Staff ultra helpful and very attentive to foreigners Great location and very good breakfast
    Roshni
    lk

    Review Score

    7.9
    May 7, 2018
    Food.
    Location
    joy
    gb

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 5, 2018
    Location, staff helpfulness and atmosphere
    The hotel was very traditional which we wanted also very central. Everything we needed and staff helpful. Bathroom facilities good and breakfast good. Atmosphere in the garden lovely after a hectic days sightseeing
    Sutteera Tantiwichanant
    th

    Review Score

    6.2
    April 29, 2018

    LOUD construction noise. Please be aware!

    The major concern with the property was the noise. There is nearby construction occurring on a large building right next to the hotel that begins from midnight until 4am. The rooms facing the construction shouldn't really be rented out at the moment or should be with at least a warning to allow the customer a choice. The noise caused such a problem we didn't sleep the first night and the next morning we had to cancel our further two nights there. The day after the noise we had a day trip planned so we decided to asks staff if when we arrived back in the evening can we cancel the further two nights and move on. At first the girl on reception demanded we check out at 2pm and not evening time otherwise we would need to pay for the room. But after a bit of explaining they relented and allowed us to check out in the evening and have a refund on the two nights of the booking left. We liked the hotel but it was let down by this. We felt it very unfair the hotel tries to lease rooms out with such a large problem. The noise wasn't background noise it was extremely loud drilling and crashing throughout our first night there. I felt sorry for the staff they tried to solve our problem but their owner really needs to question the decision in keeping some of the rooms open for booking while this work continues. It will only lower their review over time which is a shame because its a hotel with real potential and value!
    Location, breakfast
    Stn
    th

    Review Score

    7.9
    April 24, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Antonio
    hk

    Review Score

    5.8
    April 22, 2018

    Ok for one time. No need a second.

    Shit smell in the evening. Foreign hair in towels. Stone hard bed. A bit noisy rooms.
    Location. Historic building. Fair breakfast. Staff helpful.
    Torsten
    kr

    Review Score

    7.5
    April 20, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Li
    au

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 16, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Naja
    dk

    Review Score

    8.8
    April 10, 2018
    The whole place is ready for some renovation both inside and outside. The buildings are beautiful so it is a shame to see that they are not maintained. The beds are hard.
    Great location and very helpful staff. Though centrally locates next to Wangfujing street the courtyards and rooms are peaceful. It is possible to make coffee and thee in the room.
    Jarno Peräniitty
    de

    Review Score

    10
    April 8, 2018
    Beds could be softer. At least for our taste.
    Ladies in reception were fantastic. They helped us a lot with booking tickets, taxis and tours. What ever we asked they did it. Location was amazing also.
    FRANCK LAPORTE
    fr

    Review Score

    7.9
    April 6, 2018

    Traditional hotel downtown Beijing

    Breakfast could be better.
    Great location in Beijing at walking distance from shopping areas, night market and forbidden city. The staff was friendly extremely helpful and with good advice for recommanding tours and restaurants. The hotel is small and quite in traditional Chinese buildings
    Sharon
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    March 31, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jacky
    fr

    Review Score

    10
    March 26, 2018
    Kindness of people, quality of breakfast, location
    PhilMol USA
    us

    Review Score

    10
    March 23, 2018

    Wonderful stay

    Would be nice to have at least one English channel
    Staff with excellent customer service-very pleasant,helpful,accommodating.The room is very spacious,clean and the hotel is in great location~a few steps to the city center,shopping,restaurants. Wifi works well.With washing machine for free.Breakfasf was very good.Transportation to and from the airport by taxi costs about 100~115 Chinese money,based on what we paid on rush hours(make sure the meter is on).Thank you very much for making my husband's birthday very special,really appreciate the extra efforts the staff made to make it memorable and wonderful.
    John
    gb

    Review Score

    5.8
    March 20, 2018

    It served as a place to stay with absolutely no trimmings.

    This has far more the feel of a motel than hotel. There are no hotel facilities as such, the room was cold and very tired and the breakfast was poor.
    The location was good.
Loading reviews...