Reviews

8.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
7.7
Property location
9.4
Facilities
7.7
Staff
8.7
Value
7.8

Reviews

    Charles
    ca

    Review score

    7.9
    16 October 2018

    It was a good stay overall.

    The washroom shower which makes water run over the bathtub too much.
    good breakfast and the service staffs
    Angie
    sg

    Review score

    7.9
    9 September 2018
    Lot of Mosquitoes at the front desk
    A stone throw away from Wangfujing
    Susan
    au

    Review score

    10
    2 September 2018

    Overall we had a great experience at this hotel.

    Good location, tucked in behind one of the many shopping malls on Wangfujing, close to restaurants, and a short walk to the nearest subway station. Sadly it was too hot outside to enjoy the courtyard but at a different time of year it would have been great to sit out there. We found the staff to be extra helpful. Breakfast was simple but good enough.
    Jose
    pt

    Review score

    8.3
    27 August 2018

    The best location in Beijing

    Bed was extremely hard. Breakfast quite bad Hotel has courtyards, in a traditional chinese architecture. But the name of the hotel published in booking.com is misleading: I thought it belongs to Courtyard 4 stars chain (belonging to Marriott), and it's a much more simple hotel
    Hotel Location is excelent, the best possible location in Beijing: very near the big shopping malls and pedestrian street and very quiet. Simpathy of the two girls speaking English, one at the reception and the other at breakfast. Bathroom and air conditioning working very well. My room was extremely quiet and spacious, but it was a standard room. They have bigger ones.
    JING
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    12 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Helena
    pt

    Review score

    10
    10 August 2018
    Staff very professional and kind. Location (close to Forbidden City and metro). In Hutong. You really feel Beijing. Definitely, I recommend this hotel.
    Winifred
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    31 July 2018

    Great location, friendly staff and lots of character

    Checkout process didn't go smoothly as they had to process deposit refund manually via their bank - but this failure was a technology failure not in their control
    Old style Chinese architecture, nice courtyards with plenty of antique chinese character
    Leandro MP
    br

    Review score

    8.3
    21 June 2018

    Great location!

    Overall, it seems that the maintainance at the common areas of the hotel need an update. Although the Hutong style of the hotel is very authentic, it seems that the common area is abandoned, specially the front desk.
    The location is spectacular. Walking distance from the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, subway and Wangfujing Street, an important shopping street. Breakfast was simple, but ok. The staff was kind and helpful throughout our stay.
    Seng Lee Lee
    sg

    Review score

    5.8
    11 June 2018

    Good but...

    Mosquitoes; limited breakfast items
    Central location; big room
    Julia
    us

    Review score

    10
    3 June 2018

    非常有特色的地方,真正的老宅子。 就在王府井大街后,闹中取静。服务,地点

    Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. Location was great. Loved the history and architecture. My three kids, age 7, 12 and 15 thought it was cool to live in the general Tsao's house. (General Tsao's chicken was named after him)
    Ana
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    29 May 2018
    All great
    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards Staff ultra helpful and very attentive to foreigners Great location and very good breakfast
    IM
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    13 October 2018

    Serenity in teh city center

    Our first bed has extremely thin, apparently traditional, mattress. But after request, we were moved to an across apartment with thick mattress.
    This is an old estate next to modern shopping area (Wangfujing St). It was a residence of an important imperial minister some 150 years ago. The inside has two levels of courtyard with serene seating, with nearby high buildings and a catholic church barely visible. Old style furniture including an ornate bed. We rented an apartment and found that the living room was shared with another apartment. Fairly quiet inside. Many restaurants within five minute walk. Golden Phoenix towards the Dengshikou metro station was the best we tried,. Two metro stations withing 10 minute walk. Tianamen square and entrance to Forbidden city about 15 min walk. The personnel very helpful and knowledgeable.
    Shirley
    nz

    Review score

    10
    2 October 2018
    Friendly and helpful service.
    Paola
    ec

    Review score

    7.5
    18 September 2018
    Installations are not very new and One day not hot water available.. also I didn’t like they charge a deposit of 2900 yuans when I arrived as a guaranty (?)( It was difficult to understand why) but at the end of my stay They gave it back but they revert the deposit in less value . I was in a rush but lady tried to explain tjay in the future the rest will be revert too.. I’m still uncertain about this. They should explain this in the page so client is aware before booking.
    The best part is the location!! You can go to the main attractions by walking! I love it
    James
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    17 September 2018

    A convenient place to stay if willing to experience a small Chinese style hotel.

    Padlocked door to room tight quarters. Little English spoken. Taxi drivers complained about finding location..hidden behind name hotels and stores ..garden needs attention..could be wonderful
    Great breakfast. Nice bathroom. Well meaning staff. Perfect location. Profits support YMCA
    Fei He
    us

    Review score

    5.8
    19 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Edward
    us

    Review score

    6.7
    6 July 2018

    Super good location

    Construction was in the hotel. Dust was everywhere.
    Location, location, location. It is in the quite street behind all the fancy shopping malls. Lots of restaurants nearby. Walk to the nearest subway station is about 10 mins walk. The breakfast is good.
    Orn
    is

    Review score

    4.6
    3 July 2018

    Never visit this place! Never !

    Terribly dirty. There was shit on toilet paper. Air condition did not work , work like a fun and very noisy. Drinks was out of date. Breakfast terrible. To expensive for this service.
    They speak English. Good position.
    Joyce
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    2 July 2018

    Great historical hotel!

    The location- it is close to everything! The staff are extremely nice and helpful!
    jennifer
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    25 June 2018
    Outside area a little smelly probably because streets being dug up. Maybe done soon.
    Great location, Room redone nicely and courtyards beautiful. Breakfast excellent.
Loading reviews